DM’s Notes 9/9/15 “How to buy, and where to buy?”

Welcome to my brain,
Another great turnout last night. We had 17 players, by my count. 3 games in full swing and a 4th being play tested. Now we’re getting settled in we still have space upstairs for 1 or 2 groups. If you fancied DMing but don’t have a group then I can advertise for players on our social media. Or if you want to get your Roleplay on, no matter your level of experience, then come along and join in or get in contact and I’ll find you a group.
So, with the advertising done, I have a thing that I’ve being thinking from the past couple of weeks.

What’s the best way to buy your game resources? As I talk about this I don’t want people to feel that I think there is a wrong or right choice here, I’ll go over my thoughts and I’d love you to weigh in with how you see it.

 

Let’s concentrate on rule books, as they can have a big difference in the price points. Now this became a thing for me recently as I wanted the D&D monster manual. I can use digital formats, but I find physical prints easier. So that leaves me with two choices, online or in store. Online I can buy it for £20, in store it’s more like £30, that really is a big difference. Especial when money can be a little tight some months.

But what does that £10 get you?

A place,m4e6WuCth-0appSw6NtLEwQ

  • you can go and get advice on what to buy, or in game problems
  • to meet other gamers and make friends
  • to find out about upcoming games
  • for events like Encounters
  • to go and hang for 10 minutes when you’re waiting for a bus, or the other half to finish shopping
  • to quickly grab a d20 when you’ve lost yours

Now, after saying all that, I can’t then ask if you think it’s worth it. But online sales are a legitimate option, at the end of the day some times it does come down to how much we can afford to pay.
So what do you think?

& what’s your preferred method of purchasing rule books; PDF, online or in store?

This entry was posted in Dungeon Master's Notes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment